KitsAndParts.Com Forum

A place to exchange information about parts and kits supplied by http://kitsandparts.com

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-04-25 11:10:26

einreb
Member
Registered: 2011-12-01
Posts: 12

Wiring a toroid

I am a little confused as how to physically wire a toroid when I have to make a transformer with one. Assume I have a drawing of a transformer and it shows two windings, one on the left, one on the right. The windings are numbered on the left as 1 on top, 2 on the bottom, and on the right the top is 3 and the bottom is 4. There are 20 turns on the left, 8 turns on the right.
Assume I wire the primary 20 turns, make a twisted loop at the end of say 1'' and keep on going with an other 8 turns to make the secondary.   When I later cut and untwist the loop, which is now 3 and 4? Is 3 where I cut the loop or is it 4?
If this is not the way to do it, and I make the primary turns by inserting the wire from the top, do I do the same when I start with the secondary winding? Or do I make the secondary winding by inserting the start of the wire from the bottom?
I appreciate your answer so that I can build the transformer correctly.

Offline

 

#2 2012-04-25 18:03:13

W8DIZ
Administrator
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 338

Re: Wiring a toroid

Do you have a reference for your requirements?

Offline

 

#3 2012-04-26 08:36:34

einreb
Member
Registered: 2011-12-01
Posts: 12

Re: Wiring a toroid

Not really, not for this particulair situation, it is a general question. But I am building an VFO circuit with such a transformer which requires 16 turns in the primary and 8 in the secondary. It is T6 in the circuit by K8IQY and is part of the 2N240 QRP rig which is published on his website www.k8iqy.com. (The numbering of the windings is a little different there than in my sample, but the idea is the same). It uses many toriods which have to be wound by the builder, and caused me to post the question. It would be helpfull if you could indicate how to wind the many different toroids, with my posted question as a sample.

Offline

 

#4 2012-04-27 08:41:10

W8DIZ
Administrator
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 338

Re: Wiring a toroid

einreb wrote:

Not really, not for this particulair situation, it is a general question. But I am building an VFO circuit with such a transformer which requires 16 turns in the primary and 8 in the secondary. It is T6 in the circuit by K8IQY and is part of the 2N240 QRP rig which is published on his website www.k8iqy.com. (The numbering of the windings is a little different there than in my sample, but the idea is the same). It uses many toriods which have to be wound by the builder, and caused me to post the question. It would be helpfull if you could indicate how to wind the many different toroids, with my posted question as a sample.

Here is a link for others http://www.k8iqy.com/qrprigs/2n240/2n240af.gif to see T6
There is nothing magical about winding toroids.
see http://kitsandparts.com/howtowindtoroidswithoutpain.php
Here is a picture of a transformer http://kitsandparts.com/minikits/dualwind.jpg
check out the toroid example here http://kitsandparts.com/pll3inst.html
Hope this helps
-Diz

Offline

 

#5 2012-04-28 13:21:58

kc0wox
Member
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 66

Offline

 

#6 2012-04-29 12:44:38

ak2b
Administrator
From: New York City
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 356

Re: Wiring a toroid

You also might want to look at some of Leonards excellant RF Toolkit Videos.

Tom, ak2b

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB